So I guess the first thing to do is introduce myself, I’m Charlotte, 32 years old from Watford.

I have decided to start this blog to try and raise understanding of my disorder,  FND (Functional Neurological Disorder).

FND is a life changing brain disorder, I was diagnosed in August 2013 after months of tests and stress.

I will start by giving you a bit of info on my background. I am a mother of two wonderful boys, who of course are my main reason for fighting this bastard of an illness. I married too young to their Dad who was not a very nice person (speaking politely!!). I went on to train as a Primary school teacher when my children were younger and graduated in 2010. Shortly after meeting my Mr Right, who has been a god send to say the least!!

Anyway, all was going rather swimmingly, I had just started a new teaching post at a fantastic little school, then out of nowhere I began to develop my first symptoms.

It was the May Bank holiday weekend, myself and the boys (including Mr Right) were driving over to see my Dad for lunch. I had quite a nasty headache/migraine and didn’t feel right. There was a twitching sensation in my right eye.

When we arrived, I went for a lie down. After no improvement, I headed downstairs. Within minutes my health rapidly deteriorated, my right side of my face dropped and I was unable to speak. The ambulance crew thought it was a stroke so they blue lighted me to the hospital.

As you can imagine this was a horrible experience for all my family! This is just the beginning of my story, it has been one hell of a journey and I don’t want to bombard you with everything in one blow!

I am hoping by sharing my story that people may begin to gain an understanding into what it’s like living with FND.

Thanks for taking the time to read my Blog. I will aim to update every few days xxx

