slide.006

Firstly, I would like to say thanks for the positive feedback on my first blog 🙂

I am really excited to get my story out there and even if it helps just one person, I will be happy.

So to continue with my story, after spending the night in hospital following my ‘episode’ the doctors/neurologists were happy to send me home as they believed that I had Bells Palsy (temporary paralysis of the face). I was given a course of steroids and sent home.

Following this I returned to work but within a couple of days my face dropped again and my eye began to twitch uncontrollably, this was coinciding with an almighty migraine. I had to be sent to hospital again as the pain in my head was excruciating. Once again I was kept in hospital for observations and tests including an MRI scan. At this point the doctors could not see anything obvious in my brain scan but they definitely felt that this was a ‘neurological’ issue.

It’s hard to explain in words what this was doing to me both mentally and physically. I am and always will be a ‘worker’. I felt as though I was letting everyone down. My children, my family and my work colleagues. This wasn’t due to the way people were reacting, it was my own self punishment. I felt angry and frustrated. I wanted to be at work and stupidly (now I realise!) I kept trying to return to work. If I worked anywhere else, I really don’t think they would have been so understanding. Despite only knowing me a short while, I think they knew that it was very hard for me to accept what was happening.

After another stay in my local hospital, I was referred to The National Neurological Hospital in Queens’ Square, London.

A month had passed, I was suffering with constant debilitating migraines and a bells palsy like drooping of my face. We all had great hope that the doctors at Queens Square would be able to tell us what was going on and could stop the symptoms.

My neurologist was very understanding and showed great empathy. He said that I would need a lot of further tests to find out what was going on. I had to have a Botox injection in my EYELID (ouch!!@#). I was put on strong medication used for epilepsy which basically just made me sleep all the time. They arranged for me to return in a couple of weeks for a day of tests to try to get to the bottom of what was happening.

Despite all that we have been through as a family, I am a very lucky person, I know this now more than ever. As I take you on this journey, I have mixed emotions. Part of me feels sad but then I realise that on every step of way I have had the love of my family and friends supporting me. No one should have to go through something like this without someone to support them. If you are lucky enough to have that then no matter what happens to you, you are blessed.

I hope that I haven’t gone on for too long, I’m still ‘finding my feet’ with this blogging business. Once again a huge thanks for taking the time to read my story. Please feel free to share or comment. I will try to update again in a few days.

Thanks, Charlotte xx

