hear-no-evil-see-no-evil-speak-no-evil

Invisible disabilities are chronic illnesses and conditions that significantly impair normal activities of daily living. In the United Kingdom, 96% of people with chronic medical conditions show no outward signs of their illness, and 10% experience symptoms that are considered disabling.

When I first started to have symptoms of my illness, you could visibly notice that I was suffering as I used to experience facial paralysis and twitching. As my symptoms have developed and changed my face no longer ‘drops’. As a result of this most people assume that I am well. I really do wish this was the case!

FND along with a huge list of chronic illnesses, such as:

Arthritic / Rheumatic Condition’s

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

Chronic Widespread Pain

Fibromyalgia

Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Ménière’s Syndrome

M. E. Myalgic Encephalopathy

Myofascial Pain

Seasonal Affective Disorder

Trigeminal Neuralgia

can all be ‘invisible’. I am very aware of this, so I don’t get angry when others assume everything is okay. I try my best to not complain about my constant pain. I don’t want people to feel sorry for me and I want to be treated as normal.

If you know someone who is suffering from an invisible illness, please try not to judge them. Some of the people who I considered to be my friends haven’t been very understanding. They think that I’m anti social and I don’t want to come over or go out. This really isn’t the case. Imagine waking up every day and feeling beyond exhausted, suffering from constant pain but still having to ‘put on a brave face’. Sufferers of invisible illnesses have to deal with this each and every day.

I hope that you don’t find this information negative as that’s not what I intended. Part of raising awareness includes promoting understanding. I hope that this is useful and informative.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Charlotte xxx

