Thinking

I am in the middle of my ‘half term’ break from school. We as a family are enjoying a well deserved break. Unfortunately, I am still unable to completely forget about work. Teaching as a profession really becomes a lifestyle. It tends to be the last thing you think of before you fall asleep and the first thing you think of when you wake up.

Since falling ill, I have supposedly taken a step back from whole class teaching and I have been teaching small groups 4 days a week and covering another teacher for a whole day on a Monday. Due to a lack in school funding I have had to accept a lower pay bracket and have been given two contracts. One of these being a HLTA (higher level teaching assistant) and the other a supply teacher. As you can imagine this has had a huge impact on my financial situation as well as my confidence. Teaching Assistants are amazing and are vital in the classroom. It’s not that I care being labelled a TA as that is by no means a bad thing! What I find hard is that after working my butt off to gain my teaching degree, due to my illness I have almost had my teaching title stripped away. This has knocked my confidence as I feel that although I am currently working as a teacher (marking, planning, assessing, subject leading- the list goes on!!) I am not always considered as a member of teaching staff.

I have thought about this a lot lately and a prominent thought that has come to mind is something that my Auntie, a fully qualified nurse, said to me. ‘No matter what you do, where you work, who you come across, one thing that no one can ever take away from you is your teaching degree. Anywhere you go you will always have that under your belt. It is something you have worked very hard for and something that helps to define who you are’. The more I think about this conversation with my auntie, the more I can smile to myself, I know that no matter what title I am given or what others may assume, I am and always will be a teacher.

Thanks for reading,

Charlotte xxx

