One of the most debilitating symptoms of FND has to be the cluster migraines. I have been really suffering for nearly a week now with terrible head pain which unfortunately leads to more non epileptic seizures. 
Some of my medication aims to prevent migraines, such as, propranolol and amitriptyline. These have made a huge improvement and have allowed me to have breaks between the pain. However, I can still be affected by normal migraine triggers. I have found triggers can include extreme temperatures, stormy weather and even a full moon?!? (Just like the tides the liquid surrounding our brains can be disrupted by a full moon)

There are a few ways to try and reduce/prevent migraines. The following is a list I have compiled from various neurologists and cardiologists.

1) Stay hydrated – you should aim to drink at least 3 litres of water everyday. 

2) Reduce or stop your caffeine intake – caffeine is a known trigger for headache. 

3) Avoid over stimulating your brain with technology. 

I have tried all of the above and have found them to be quite useful. Unfortunately, sometimes nothing will work and I just have to ride it out. I am meant to avoid painkillers as apparently they stop my other meds working properly. If you haven’t been told this then I would also recommend taking paracetamol and ibuprofen together every 4 hours. Obviously, I am not a doctor of any sort and these are simply my ideas and opinions. I hope that this information helps.

Thank you for taking the time to read my story. Hopefully, my head will improve before I go back to work!!

Charlotte xxx

