This morning, I have taken part in a questionnaire about FND and sleep problems. It’s a study put together by a lecturer at the University of Leeds. The wonderful people at FND Action put a link up on social media. 
This has really got me thinking about the affects of sleep on your health. According to the National Sleep foundation  website at:

at https://sleepfoundation.org/media-center/press-release/national-sleep-foundation-recommends-new-sleep-times 

The average adult needs at least 7 to 9 hours sleep. In reality, not many adults I know get that much sleep ever!

In the past I had never really had any problems with my sleep but since falling ill, I have noticed a growing problem. Quite often I have seizures through the night which obviously disturbs my sleep. It takes me on average an hour to fall asleep. When I eventually go off to sleep I find that I constantly wake up for one reason or another. I often have a lot of pain in my head and around my body so when I lay down, I become more aware of this.

The purpose of the study is to find out how sleep is related to symptoms experienced in FND. They are hoping to find new ways to make living with FND  a bit more bearable. So fingers crossed. 

Any research that can help make a difference to chronic illness is always a good thing. For now all we can do is try our best to make the most of our lives. Stay strong and keep up the fight. 

Thanks for taking the time to read my story. 

Charlotte xxx 

