Another week is nearly through and despite feeling absolutely drained I am pleased to say that I am surviving. I am in constant battle mode and sleep seems like a distant memory but I haven’t given up!

The extreme cold weather, much like the extreme heat is playing havoc with my nervous system. I was kept up through most of the night feeling as though my spinal cord had frozen over. It wasn’t just the feeling of being cold but more like being internally frozen. Despite wearing several layers and even holding a hot water bottle against my back, I just could not warm up.

This symptom is part of the chronic pain experienced with Functional Neurological Disorder. The FND Hope website explains how the nervous system causes certain parts of your body to become extremely sensitive to temperatures.

http://fndhope.org/fnd-guide/symptoms/chronic-pain/

It seems to be quite a common problem for people who suffer with chronic fatigue to have many factors that prevent them from getting a good night’s sleep! Ironically, even if I was to get a 12 hour sleep my fatigue will not improve much as my body is in constant fight mode.

The positive side of this is that despite all of my challenges, I’m still functioning. My close family and friends are my energy and my spirit. My fellow chronic pain warriors give me hope. We’re very close to a new year and I plan to make it a year of knowledge and understanding. Together we can spread the word and get everyone talking about and understanding Functional Neurological Disorder.

I’m excited about the journey, fundraising and social media awareness is what 2017 is going to be all about. Thank you to my readers for joining me on this journey, I hope you will continue to join me into the new year and whatever it may be.

Charlotte xxx

