It’s been a busy couple of weeks. I took an educated decision to step away from my blog for a short time to focus on my family and health. I am pleased to say that despite being extremely busy and full of cold my symptoms have been fairly controlled. Unfortunately, both my boys have been poorly and I honestly thank god that I have been well enough to look after them and help them get well again.

I live each day as it comes and have found that this keeps me in check mentally. I have learnt to never expect too much of myself and my body. I have been working hard but making sure that I don’t over do it. Strangely, I have felt that my brain has been preoccupied with fighting the virus I’ve had. It’s almost like it’s distracted by the temperature and therefore isn’t able to focus on the migraines and pain. Luckily for me that has meant less seizures and no loss of movement in my legs!

I know that my body is physically exhausted and because of this I know that I need to rest. If any of my fellow sufferers of FND have found a decrease in symptoms when they’ve got a normal illness, please do let me know. 

Unfortunately, I am still very numb in my back and bottom but I am getting used to it. I’m STILL waiting for my appointments in physiotherapy but I understand that the NHS is under a lot of pressure. I have recently started to work out again and I’m pleased to say that I’m coping well and not fainting or fitting. I am feeling brighter and healthier already. If my body is in too much pain, I leave it until the following day.

My plans for a fundraising event for FND Action are coming together nicely. It’s exciting to have the opportunity to help spread awareness of Functional Neurological Disorder. I’m shocked at how common it is yet so little is understood about it. Let’s make a change and turn 2017 into the year of growth and learning for FND.

Thanks for taking the time to read my story. 

Charlotte xxx 

