Taking care of your mental health can be just as important as your physical health. When you live with a chronic illness, spending each and every day in constant pain, it can understandably have a negative impact on your mindset. 

Unfortunately, many people I speak to who are in a similar predicament suffer with anxiety and depression. It’s so easy to become completely consumed by pain and despair. It’s not so easy to break through this as you start to lose the will to live. I honestly don’t think I could stand my life, the way it is right now, if I didn’t have my family. 

That’s why I truly believe that talking about how you’re feeling is so important. If you talk to someone, it doesn’t necessarily have to be a family member or even a friend, just another person, it can really help to focus on what’s going on in your head.

Another important thing to do when you start to feel low is to recognise it and rationalise the thoughts you are having. It’s perfectly normal for anyone to have negative feelings and to feel a bit low. Especially if you are struggling, whether that be with your health or something else. However, when these thoughts and feelings start to take over and you can’t break through the darkness then you may need to seek more professional help.

I’m lucky and happy but despite this, I’m really struggling at the moment. The pain just doesn’t seem to lift, it’s constant and it’s starting to get me down. As a result of this, I have been acting out of character. I have been grumpy and snappy. Poor Mr Right is getting most of the brunt of it. I hate to be this way, it’s not me. The sad thing is that at the moment there’s nothing I can do about it. The good thing is that I see it and I understand it. I’m lucky that Mr Right is understanding and truly loves me. There’s not many men who could deal with everything he has and not run a mile!

I think all of my symptoms are so much worse at the moment because I’m exhausted. When my fatigue is worse, my pain is worse and I have more seizures. In an ideal world, I would just take time off to rest. In reality, I work and I’m a mother and a friend. I can’t just stop and rest, somehow I just have to keep going. I just hope that I make it to the end of term!

Please remember to always talk about how you’re feeling. Try not to ‘bottle’ things up. It won’t make your problems go away but it stops them from ‘bursting’ out of control. 

Thanks for taking the time to read my story. 

Charlotte xxx 

