What a week! It’s definitely been a scorcher! However, I am thrilled to say that I have coped really well 😊

This time last year when the weather became hot I fell really poorly. All of my usual symptoms were exacerbated and I ended up in hospital. I’m really proud of myself for how well I have been this week despite being extremely busy and dealing with the extreme temperatures. I may not be better yet but I’m definitely getting there. I have lasted all week and didn’t have a seizure until last night (Thursday).

Last week, I started my first counselling session with a psychologist. It was extremely intense but strangely enlightening. My psychologist is fantastic. She’s taken the time to read up on Functional Neurological Disorder and understands that it is a neurological condition that causes physical symptoms. She has also seen how emotional trauma has contributed to me falling ill with FND. 

Yesterday, it was my second session. I discussed how much it has helped so far to just be able to ‘off load’ all of the terrible things that I am constantly carrying around. My psychologist believes that I am also suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder  (PTSD). She believes that this may have triggered the FND and sent my brain into disarray causing my physical symptoms. I personally found this quite hard to process but it does make sense. She said that I need to step back and look at what I have been through, it’s not normal and it’s not minor. It’s real trauma. Hopefully, by finally facing up to it and letting go of all of the guilt I have, I might help myself to heal some of the damage my brain has gone through. 

It’s still early days, but I really feel that I’m getting somewhere with this counselling. Having to talk about all the awful events I have been through is incredibly hard and is causing a tornado of emotions but if I continue to trap it all inside I will have no chance of getting better.

I’m going to continue to fight against this illness and I’m willing to try anything that might help. So, as I always say ‘Onwards and upwards’.

I have appealed against the DWPs decision on my PIP assessment so I just have to wait now.

Thanks for taking the time to read my story. 

Charlotte xxx 

