I’m taking some time to heal. Even the healthiest of people need to take some ‘down’ time. My FND symptoms have exploded due to having spent the past two weeks in and out of hospital with my youngest son. I’m hoping and praying that he is finally on the mend after being sick every night for 13 days in a row, last night he was sick free.

I’m thankful that my ‘mummy-power’ well and truly kicked in and that I have been able to mostly be there for my son. It gave the nurses on the night shift in the children’s ward an eye opening experience of Functional Neurological Disorder. I guess that’s one way to raise awareness 😂

Now that we are home and my son is hopefully on the road to recovery, I can give my body a chance to recover. My pain is through the roof and it feels as though my head might explode. I’m having numerous seizures without any warning /build up. However, this is all to be expected. What really matters is that my body didn’t let me down when I needed it most. My son needed his mum and I was able to be there for him.

I have received my first appointment for the FND clinic at the National Neurological hospital in Queens Square. I’m not quite sure what to expect yet but I have high hopes that they will be able to help me find ways to improve my life. 

I am continuing to work on my PTSD and gaining a better understanding of the reasons behind the way my body reacts to trauma. It’s all small steps but better small than not at all!

The summer holidays so far have been absolutely bloody awful. I’m hoping now that things will start to improve and my little family can finally enjoy a well deserved break together! 

Thanks for taking the time to read my story. 

Charlotte xxx

